Preferred Hotels (iPrefer) Reviews - 1.1 Stars (2024)

How would you rate Preferred Hotels (iPrefer)?

Top Critical Review

“The most user-unfriendly programme I have ever joined, Zero stars”

MinnieJ.

5/7/23

Truly unbelievably terrible sign-up process online. The layout of the sign up form is not at all clear where you put in your password details then it auto fills into the enrolment recommendation section, not into the repeat password section, and you cannot see the password ion order to copy it. No idea after filling in the form of what my user name and password was once I'd filled in personal info. Then the system didn't recognise me at sign in even though safari had saved it. I was trying to book a specific hotel and it was unbelievably obstructive, then when I wanted to amend my hotel booking I had to by-pass iPrefer in order to do it direct with the hotel. This swallowed up nearly an hour of my time. I wish I'd just paid more and not joined!

See critical reviews

Reviews (16)

Preferred Hotels (iPrefer) Reviews - 1.1 Stars (1)

MinnieJ.

1 review

0 helpful votes

  • Follow Minnie J.
  • Send Message

“The most user-unfriendly programme I have ever joined, Zero stars”

May 7th, 2023

Verified purchase

Truly unbelievably terrible sign-up process online. The layout of the sign up form is not at all clear where you put in your password details then it auto fills into the enrolment recommendation section, not into the repeat password section, and you cannot see the password ion order to copy it. No idea after filling in the form of what my user name and password was once I'd filled in personal info. Then the system didn't recognise me at sign in even though safari had saved it. I was trying to book a specific hotel and it was unbelievably obstructive, then when I wanted to amend my hotel booking I had to by-pass iPrefer in order to do it direct with the hotel. This swallowed up nearly an hour of my time. I wish I'd just paid more and not joined!

Tip for consumers:
That it is actually obstructive to hotel booking!

Products used:
Membership

Service

Value

Quality

  • Comment
  • Thank you
  • Respond as company

Helpful (0)

Thank you

Preferred Hotels (iPrefer) Reviews - 1.1 Stars (2)

JohnP.

4 reviews

1 helpful vote

  • Follow John P.
  • Send Message

“IPrefer loyalty program is a joke and an insult”

April 29th, 2021

Verified purchase

My wife and I just stayed at a preferred hotel last weekend and spent $3,000 and had a fabulous experience and would definitely return, BUT when I inquired about their loyalty program they told me to go online and register with iPrefer and submit my folio for points and membership. After submitting my folio and application for points, I got an automated email saying they do not reward points for stays before joining iPrefer. What? How was I supposed to know this hotel was part of the iPreferred network before checking in unless I was a psychic? I have been a lifetime member of every major hotel program out there, and never heard of iPrefer. If iPrefer's objective is to foster loyalty, it is doing just the opposite by penalizing a "new" customer whom I assume they would like to return (after all, isn't that the definition of loyalty?) BEWARE of iPrefer and put your psychic hat on before making a reservation at any of their properties.

Products used:
Tried to get iPrefer hotel points but was told could not get points after staying at one of their Preferred Hotels.

Service

  • Comment
  • Thank you
  • Respond as company

Helpful (1)

Thank you

Preferred Hotels (iPrefer) Reviews - 1.1 Stars (3)

LonnieG.

1 review

2 helpful votes

  • Follow Lonnie G.
  • Send Message

“App, refused 'joining' repeatedly..”

January 19th, 2024

Today is 1/19/24. Spent a considerable amount of time working on signing up for this 'preferred hotel rewards program.' Recurrently, I agree with a #1rating, on this website, and now believe all other #1 reviews for this program.

Tip for consumers:
Over a hour of wasted time, efforts and energy. No longer enthusiastic about any Preferred Hotels.

Products used:
The website won’t allow me access to anything! I take it as a sign!

  • Comment
  • Thank you
  • Respond as company

Helpful (2)

Thank you

Preferred Hotels (iPrefer) Reviews - 1.1 Stars (4)

rt.

1 review

1 helpful vote

  • Follow R T.
  • Send Message

“I Prefer Certificates are worthless”

February 28th, 2022

I stayed two nights at the Silvermith Hotel in Chicago in early February 2022. When I made the reservation, I said I had an I Prefer certificate that I wanted to use for the reservation. I was assured i merely had to present upon check out. When I checked in, i presented the certificate and was told they would apply it to my bill. When i check out two days later, i was told the manager needed to review and they would credit my account soon. I wrote several times and the manager is now ghosting me. I have been forced to dispute the charge on my credit card.

Products used:
hotel room

Service

Value

Quality

  • Comment
  • Thank you
  • Respond as company

Helpful (1)

Thank you

Preferred Hotels (iPrefer) Reviews - 1.1 Stars (5)

LeoT.

1 review

2 helpful votes

  • Follow Leo T.
  • Send Message

“Worthless”

March 17th, 2023

Hotel would not honor upgrade despite having availability. Preferred customer service would not do anything to help.

Service

Value

Quality

  • Comment
  • Thank you
  • Respond as company

Helpful (2)

Thank you

Preferred Hotels (iPrefer) Reviews - 1.1 Stars (6)

ThomasF.

1 review

4 helpful votes

  • Follow Thomas F.
  • Send Message

“No customer service available”

May 6th, 2019

I booked package through iPrefer but hotel had no knowledge of package and didn't honor. I contacted iPrefer to make a complaint but no option to do so. So I sent an email asking about how to complain I received an automated response that didn't address my question and only had information about cancellations but no customer service informtion. How can Preferred Hotels not have a customer service department? How can they offer package but not honor it? Isn't that bait and switch or false advertising?

  • Comment
  • Thank you
  • Respond as company

Helpful (4)

Thank you

Preferred Hotels (iPrefer) Reviews - 1.1 Stars (7)

MinjungK.

1 review

4 helpful votes

  • Follow Minjung K.
  • Send Message

February 16th, 2019

Since I couldn't book a room for 5 people, I called to make the reservation. Even though I asked 4 times to send me a confirmation email about the hotel details, my husband or I never received the confirmation emails. When we arrived at the hotel, I found out the room was not the one we booked with one of their representatives. I ended up paying twice more than any other site. So, when I called the customer service & even asked for the supervisor, they just told me rudely that there is nothing they can do. I will NEVER use this site to make reservations!

  • Comment
  • Thank you
  • Respond as company

Helpful (4)

Thank you

Preferred Hotels (iPrefer) Reviews - 1.1 Stars (8)

GeraldO.

1 review

2 helpful votes

  • Follow Gerald O.
  • Send Message

“Terrible program”

June 20th, 2019

I stay very regularly in a hotel belonging to Iprefer (50 nights in last six months). The hotel is great, but the Iprefer program is simply below par. Dysfunctional page on smart phone. Rewards that are both uncompelling and not fulfilled. Simply non competitive with others out there. Time to either change the iPrefer system from beginning to end.

  • Comment
  • Thank you
  • Respond as company

Helpful (2)

Thank you

Preferred Hotels (iPrefer) Reviews - 1.1 Stars (9)

AmyR.

1 review

2 helpful votes

  • Follow Amy R.
  • Send Message

“SCAM!”

April 14th, 2018

This is the worst way one can book a room! I signed up trusting it through the Hotel Monteleone in New Orleans wesite, You are stuck with what you get, no modifications, or cancellations.

CALL HOTEL DIRECT to book your room and avoid this company like the plague! They are only interested in money, whereas the hotel focuses on service in hopes you will return.

  • Comment
  • Thank you
  • Respond as company

Helpful (2)

Thank you

Preferred Hotels (iPrefer) Reviews - 1.1 Stars (10)

DM.

1 review

3 helpful votes

  • Follow D M.
  • Send Message

“Stay Away”

April 5th, 2019

Check Kayak first before booking on this site. I was about to book a room in Hawaii and found a rate for the same room on Kayak for $100 less. I called the 800 number to match or cancel and they were very rude and unwilling help.

  • Comment
  • Thank you
  • Respond as company

Helpful (3)

Thank you

Preferred Hotels (iPrefer) Reviews - 1.1 Stars (11)

LaurieW.

3 reviews

3 helpful votes

  • Follow Laurie W.
  • Send Message

“Slow, difficult, unfriendly”

March 29th, 2017

We've spent over $60K in the last year staying at Preferred hotels. Points program is slow and inefficient. Two major stays (over $10k each) we can't get credit on because of 6 month limit. Okay, fine. Next two major stays we submitted request providing the requisite billing portfolios, reservation confirmation #'s ETC ETC ETC and they haven't responded. No membership cards. CS Reps are indifferent at best on the phone. Not worth the effort in our experience. Some great member hotels however.

  • Comment
  • Thank you
  • Respond as company

Helpful (3)

Thank you

Preferred Hotels (iPrefer) Reviews - 1.1 Stars (12)

AnneB.

1 review

4 helpful votes

  • Follow Anne B.
  • Send Message

“Not worth the effort or the reward”

July 16th, 2017

Very poor customer service when you call for any assistance.
I have had continual problems with their website...
Definitely not worth the return.

  • Comment
  • Thank you
  • Respond as company

Helpful (4)

Thank you

Preferred Hotels (iPrefer) Reviews - 1.1 Stars (13)

HelenH.

1 review

3 helpful votes

  • Follow Helen H.
  • Send Message

“Poor customer service and website”

September 18th, 2017

The website is designed in a way that cheating customers. When one promotion was not working for a certain hotel on some days, it automatically gave me another promotion. All the conditions and terms are not working in most cases. And the customer service is blaiming me for paying the hotel on line (their poor website of iPrefer).

  • Comment
  • Thank you
  • Respond as company

Helpful (3)

Thank you

Preferred Hotels (iPrefer) Reviews - 1.1 Stars (14)

CharlesT.

1 review

2 helpful votes

  • Follow Charles T.
  • Send Message

“Would Not Correct Their Mistake”

July 4th, 2017

I booked a hotel on the iPrefer site. When I received my confirmation, it had the wrong date. I called iPrefer and they would not help me. I was told that I needed to contact the hotel direct to correct iPrefer's mistake. I will not be using iPrefer again.

  • Comment
  • Thank you
  • Respond as company

Helpful (2)

Thank you

Preferred Hotels (iPrefer) Reviews - 1.1 Stars (15)

PaulM.

1 review

4 helpful votes

  • Follow Paul M.
  • Send Message

“The most UNREWARDING Guest Reward Program”

November 20th, 2017

The program, which should be a way of thanking guests for their stay is one of the most onerous I have ever seen. It is designed with enough small print and loopholes to prevent you from obtaining any benefits. After about a month stay when no reward points were provided I was told too bad you did not read the small print and should not have made your reservation through your company travel agency. This after providing my member number at the desk and being told by the hotel that I was all set. In its current form this program is a scam and needs a lot of work. For me, business trips are not always enjoyable and the benefit of future personal travel is a plus. My advice is to find other lodging. I know I will not stay in an iPrefer hotel in the future.

  • Comment
  • Thank you
  • Respond as company

Helpful (4)

Thank you

Preferred Hotels (iPrefer) Reviews - 1.1 Stars (16)

SamuelL.

1 review

7 helpful votes

  • Follow Samuel L.
  • Send Message

“Very inconvenient rewards programs with middling service”

May 22nd, 2016

Signed up for rewards program when booking boutique hotel. Didn't get points. Had to call several times and then call hotel to get it fixed. Then tried to a book another hotel through the site which didn't give me the points either. Also had to call again to fix it. Rep wasn't very helpful. The bottom line: not worth the hassle.

Service

Value

Quality

  • Comment
  • Thank you
  • Respond as company

Helpful (7)

Thank you

Preferred Hotels (iPrefer) Reviews - 1.1 Stars (2024)

References

Top Articles
Latest Posts
Article information

Author: Melvina Ondricka

Last Updated:

Views: 6444

Rating: 4.8 / 5 (48 voted)

Reviews: 87% of readers found this page helpful

Author information

Name: Melvina Ondricka

Birthday: 2000-12-23

Address: Suite 382 139 Shaniqua Locks, Paulaborough, UT 90498

Phone: +636383657021

Job: Dynamic Government Specialist

Hobby: Kite flying, Watching movies, Knitting, Model building, Reading, Wood carving, Paintball

Introduction: My name is Melvina Ondricka, I am a helpful, fancy, friendly, innocent, outstanding, courageous, thoughtful person who loves writing and wants to share my knowledge and understanding with you.